The Center for Disability & Elder Law (CDEL) has had a Young Professionals Board since 2008.  The YPB is, in essence, an auxiliary committee comprised of young lawyers and other allied professionals in Cook County who want to become more involved in public interest law and to truly make a difference in the lives of our community’s most vulnerable and underrepresented residents.  The YPB serves four distinct purposes: 

  • Provide ambassadors of CDEL to the community, such ambassadors helping to promote CDEL’s mission and activities.
  • Recruit volunteer attorneys to assist CDEL clients in a pro bono capacity.
  • Assist CDEL’s governing Board with fundraising initiatives.
  • Prepare individual YPB members for future full board positions, either with CDEL or with other leading nonprofit organizations.

 At minimum, all YPB members are expected to:

  • Make a financial contribution to CDEL of $100 in the form of a give/get, meaning members can “give” the amount themselves or “get” the amount by having other sources donate to CDEL.  Participation in CDEL fundraisers (i.e. donation made during Giving Tuesday, or the purchase of CDEL event / raffle tickets) is considered part of a member’s financial contribution.  CDEL does have a hardship policy for those members who cannot afford to make their expected contribution.
  • Attend at least two fundraising events annually, including the YPB Trivia Night in the fall.
  • Attend at least 50% of all YPB meetings.  The YPB meets 4-6 times annually.
  • Volunteer with CDEL at a Senior Center Initiative or by taking on a pro bono case.
  • Serve on at least one subcommittee of the YPB.
  • Recruit and nominate other young professionals for YPB membership.

YPB Applications are available in the fall, and terms begin in January of each year.  To learn more about the YPB please contact Caroline Manley at





Maureen Loughran
FMS Law Group LLC


Joelle Shabat
Swanson Martin & Bell


Stephanie Tang  
Kogut & Wilson, LLC

 Andrew Follett
 Cornerstone Research


Kimberly McClain

Seyfarth Shaw LLP



Alicia Beyer
Perkins Coie LLP  

Patrick Bushell

Peck Ritchey, LLC
Jessica Coutre
Freeborn & Peters LLP

Leynee Cruz
Chuhak & Tecson P.C.

Han Cui
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Michael Ditore

Corboy & Demetrio

Jennifer Goldfaden 
Mayer Brown LLP

Cathryn Hall 
Cassiday Schade LLP 
Meghan Hamilton 
Baker McKenzie
Mallory Jandrists 
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Mita Lakhia 
Drinker Biddle & Reath, LLP
Paulina Mateja 

Brent Miller
FTI Consulting, Inc. 

Mallory Morgan 

 Demoni Newman 
Jones Day  

 Brian Ratterman
Nyhan, Bambrick, Kinzie & Lowry, P.C.

Daniel Robbin 
Office of the Chief Judge of the Circuit Court

Melinda Tsang  
MB Financial

Daniel Waltz  
Troutman Sanders LLP 

Lindsey Weltman 
Patzik, Frank & Samotny Ltd.


Mayer Brown LLP